Skip to content

"Sinner’s Prayer" in Roman Catholic Mass

April 1, 2008

I was watching EWTN on Friday night (don’t we all) and came across a Latin Mass. So I’m watching as they begin Communion and a voice-over says something to the effect of “If you are not a Catholic and are unable to receive this Sacrament, we invite you to pray the following prayer: Lord Jesus Christ, I believe that you are truly present in this Sacrament. I make you my Lord and Savior; please come into my heart.” (I am paraphrasing, but that’s the idea.)

Aside from being perplexed at how someone could receive the Sacrament through the television, I was quite shocked to see that kind of statement from a Catholic church. It was the first time I had ever heard the “Sinner’s Prayer” being prayer in a Catholic service. Did anyone else see this and have you seen something like this before?

From → Hymns

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

