Skip to content

Praetorius saved my Christmas

December 21, 2009

Yesterday was a very long day.  Anyone who is involved with a church in any capacity knows that Advent and Lent are very busy.  By the end of each season, many church workers are ready for it to be done.  I go into each Advent and Lent with a good deal of excitement, but by the time it’s over, I’m just glad to have it behind me.

Well, I was having one of those moments yesterday.  We had our two services for the Fourth Sunday in Advent in the morning, and then our Sunday School Children’s Christmas Program in the afternoon.  It went very well and I am very proud of the kids, but I was pretty tired of Advent & Christmas by then.  Mostly I was just tired.

But then I turned on my favorite Christmas album, Praetorius’s Mass for Christmas Morning by Paul McCreesh and the Gabrieli Consort and Players.  My what a difference it makes!  My favorite part is the final hymn “In Dulci Jubilo,” especially the final stanza, which uses loud timpani and horns playing for all they’re worth!  Check out the video below, which also includes the organ piece immediately before “In Dulci Jubilo.”  The joy of this piece is infectious!  If we celebrate Christmas in Heaven, this must be some of what it will be like.  Absolutely glorious!

From → Church Music, Hymns

4 Comments
  1. This recording is THE BEST!

  2. Vicki Schnack permalink

    Nathan, listening to this was GLORIOUS and so perfectly timed. We are in the middle of a move and are so busy besides we can barely breathe. My recording of this is buried somewhere in a box that I may not find ’till next Christmas. This is just what I needed! Thank you.

    Merry Christmas!

    Vicki

  3. Bonnie Walter permalink

    I was wondering where this beautiful cathedral is located?

  4. I don’t know for sure about the video, but the recording was done at Roskilde Cathedral in Denmark. Here is a link to a Wikepedia article about it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roskilde_Cathedral

    Hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

