Skip to content

“Evening and Morning” – Music of Lutheran Daily Prayer

January 17, 2010

I have always wanted to sing Matins and Vespers every day.  However, I am lazy and easily distractable (which amounts to this: I am a sinner) and seem unable to keep it up on a regular basis.

But CPH has come out with a new product that I think will help.  It is called “Evening and Morning: Music of Lutheran Daily Prayer” and it is fantastic!  It is a simple concept: have the Kantorei of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, Indiana record all the services of Daily Prayer in the Treasury of Daily Prayer, which are also found in Lutheran Service Book.

The recordings are beautiful and quite easy to sing along to.  I have it in the cd player in my car (which I haven’t used in quite a while) and so when I get in the car in the morning, I turn it on and I sing Matins along with the Kantorei, and then on the way home, I sing Vespers. Luckily my drive is just about the perfect length.  I’m sure I look funny to the people driving around me, but oh well.  Hopefully I can keep it up.

So thank you CPH and the Kantorei for producing this fine product.  You can order it here.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

