Skip to content

A Lenten Improvisation from St. Sulpice

March 9, 2010

I have always loved the French school of organ improvisation.  Here is a video of Daniel Roth, organist at St. Sulpice in Paris improvising on the world’s largest, unaltered Cavaille-Coll organ (there is an altered Cavaille-Coll at Notre Dame in Paris, to give another point of reference).  (Click here for a stoplist and description of this magnificent instrument).  In this improvisation, Mr. Roth uses two hymn tunes:  “HERZLICH TUT MICH VERLANGEN” (O Sacred Head, Now Wounded) and VICTIMAE PASCHALI LAUDES (Christians to the Paschal Victim).  The first is a Lenten hymn and the second is a sequence for Easter, although it does not sound anything like “Jesus Christ is Risen Today” (EASTER HYMN).

From → Church Music, Hymns

6 Comments
  1. My man SLK is probably up on these things, but for those who are wondering, the chorales based on the sequence are LSB 458 and 459. Check out LSB 460 in the Accompaniment to the Hymns for the sequence itself, “Christians to the Pascal Victim.”

    • Iggy, thanks for posting those references. I didn’t have my hymnal in front of me when I wrote the post last night.

  2. No prob! I am such a geek that I keep a hymnal next to my computer for such an occasion. ;)

    The full Victimae Pascali (LSB 460) is one of my favorite Easter hymns!

    • Yeah, if I was writing it in my office at church I’d have 4 within arm’s reach. At home the hymnal is on the piano.

    • @Iggy — You’re not the only one that keeps a hymnal at the computer. I have a book stand on the desk that keeps LSB propped up and open.

  3. @Chris – LOL! I am in good company, then! I have a pedestal with LSB, ESV, TLH and the Propers, plus Songs of Zion for spirituals and gospel songs. I do not have an office space at my church (no one really has a private space – pastor and principal share an office), so I keep some things handy here at the home office.

Leave a Reply

