Skip to content

Lenten Hymn: Lord, Thee I Love with All My Heart (stanza 3)

March 11, 2010

Bach’s St. John Passion ends with the Chorale “Ach Herr Lass Dein Lieb Engelein” (Ah Lord, let thine own angels dear).  This is stanza three of “Lord, Thee I Love with All My Heart” (LSB 708).  (This is the suggested hymn of the day for the Second Sunday in Lent.  We had a guest pastor that day who wanted to use the suggested hymn of the day for the Fourth Sunday in Lent, so we switched them. .. Hopefully you’re still with me…)

So, long story short, we are singing it this Sunday.  We are blessed to have the Chamber Choir from Concordia University, Seward, Nebraska in our early service this week and they will be singing the second stanza.

All of which brings me to stanza three.  It is a fantastic prayer of to God that expresses absolute confidence in the resurrection at the last day.  Here is the text from the Lutheran Service Book:

Lord, let at last Thine angels come,
To Abr’ham’s bosom bear me home,
That I may die unfearing;
And in its narrow chamber keep
My body safe in peaceful sleep
Until Thy reappearing.
And then from death awaken me,
That these mine eyes with joy may see,
O Son of God, Thy glorious face,
My Savior and my fount of grace.
Lord Jesus Christ,
my prayer attend, my prayer attend,
And I will praise Thee without end.

From → Church Music, Hymns

2 Comments
  1. The final stanza of “A Lamb Goes Uncomplaining Forth” has similar themes.

    Lord, when Your glory I shall see
    And taste your kingdom’s pleasure,
    Your blood my royal robe shall be,
    My joy beyond all measure!
    When I appear before Your throne,
    Your righteousness shall be my crown;
    With these I need not hide me.
    And there, in garments richly wrought,
    As your own bride shall we be brought
    To stand in joy beside You.

    LSB 438, Stanza 4

  2. Marie Berger permalink

    There is a stand alone hymn for the last stanza of A Lamb Goes Uncomplaining Forth. It is #219 in the Lutheran Hymnal, Christian Worship of WELS. The tune and setting by Kurt Eggert (1923-93)the title is Lord, When Your Glory I Shall See. Text by Paul Gerhardt .

Leave a Reply

