Skip to content

“The Freedom We Have in Christ”

August 24, 2010
Christogram with Jesus Prayer in Romanian: Lor...

Image via Wikipedia
The following quote comes from Lord Jesus Christ, Will You Not Stay?, a festscrift in honor of Ronald Feuerhahn’s 65th birthday.  The essay I am quoting from is entitled “The Freedom We Have in Christ” by Bo Giertz.

Satan, then, has nothing to say.  The law is fulfilled.  God has not abolished an iota, not a dot from it.  And still the law can no longer accuse.  Who shall bring any charge against God’s elect?  It is God who justifies.  Who is to condemn? It is Christ Jesus who died.

This, now, is the freedom we have in Christ.  It is the freedom that entitles me–wretched man that I am!–to be a child of God.  It is the freedom for me, a sinner, who was sold under sin and who cannot get rid of the sin which dwells in me, to come to God, as happy and innocent, as if I had never committed any sin and had never experienced the law of sin which dwells in my members.  I would never have dared to do so if God had not done this for me.  It would have been an insult to God’s holy majesty, a presumption and a blasphemy to offer him my heart and my prayers if Christ had not died for me.  But now I can do it in the name of my crucified Savior, confident that he who did not spare his own Son but gave him up for us all, he who justifies the ungodly, he will accept me for Jesus’ sake.  This is the glorious liberty of the children of God.
From → Theology

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

