Skip to content

Herman Sasse – Pastoral Theologian

September 12, 2010

Herman Sasse is one of the most readable theologians I’ve come across. I find it difficult to read more systematic works, such as Gerhard’s “On the Nature of God and Holy Scripture.”. I can read a page or two and then I have to stop and digest for a while what he was saying. Gerhard’s Mediations on Divine Mercy and Sacred Meditations are much easier for me. I suppose I do better with devotional books than systematics, which works alright for me.

I am writing this to bring your attention to Herman Sasse’s We Confess Anthology, translated by Norman Nagel and published by CPH. The essays in this volume, no matter the topic, speak of how that topic relates to Christ and the comfort for Christians given in that topic. I find I cannot put it down. So if you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it. You can find it here: http://www.cph.org/p-2895-we-confess-anthology.aspx?SearchTerm=spirituality%20of%20the%20cross

From → Theology

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

