Skip to content

It is already done

January 11, 2011

I came across this great quote from Luther’s Heidelberg Disputation as I read On Being a Theologian of the Cross by Gerhard Forde (which is a commentary on the Disputation):

Thesis 26: The law says, “do this,” and it is never done.  Grace says, “believe in this” and everything is already done.

What a wonderful statement of Law and Gospel!  Truly I can never keep the Law, no matter how hard I would try.  In fact, I  commit the sin of failing to try hard enough to keep the Law.  Lex semper accusat – “The Law always accuses.”

But in Christ, everything has been done, as Christ said, “It is finished,” and is delivered to me in Holy Baptism, Holy Communion, and Christ’s Holy Word.  I simply and miraculously receive everything from God.  What great joy and comfort!

From → Theology

2 Comments
  1. That is my favorite statement from the Heidelburg Disputation. Even better than a theologian of the cross calls a thing what it is.

  2. Yeah, this whole book has been just great. Very interesting and enlightening.

Leave a Reply

