Skip to content

Polycarp of Smyrna, Pastor & Martyr

February 23, 2011

From today’s readings from the Treasury:

This Polycarp was a disciple and diligent hearer of John the apostle and evangelist, and he called the heretic Marcion, who met him once, a “child of the devil” without any fear.  You see, no one should betray the truth with silence.

When people demanded that he deny the Christian religion, he said, “For eighty-six years I have served Christ, and He has never injured me.  Therefore how could I curse and blaspheme my King, who has given me salvation?”  When he was ninety years old, people wanted to burn him.  In the midst of the fire, he prayer, “O God, the Father of Your Son, Jesus Christ, through whom we have received knowledge of You, the maker of all creation, I call upon you, I confess You, that You are the true God; I glorify You because of the high priest, Your beloved Son, with the Holy Spirit; receive me and make me a sharer in the resurrection of Your saints.  Amen.”

We pray:

O God, the maker of heaven and earth, You gave boldness to confess Jesus Christ as King and Savior and steadfastness to die for the faith to Your venerable servant, the holy and gentle Polycarp.  Grant us grace to follow his example in sharing the cup of Christ’s suffering so that we may also share in His glorious resurrection; through Jesus Christ, our Lord, who lives and reigns with You and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and forever.  Amen.

From → Theology

Leave a Reply

