Skip to content

Lenten Music: Ich Ruf Zu Dir [BWV 639]- J.S. Bach

March 9, 2011

This piece has become my standard Ash Wednesday Prelude.  It sets the tone for Lent well.

Here is a video of the piece:

Here is a video of the same piece played beautifully on one guitar:

Here is the text of the first stanza:

Ich ruf zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ,
Ich bitt, erhör mein Klagen,
Verleih mir Gnad zu dieser Frist,
Laß mich doch nicht verzagen;
Den rechten Glauben, Herr, ich mein,
Den wollest du mir geben,
Dir zu leben,
Meinm Nächsten nütz zu sein,
Dein Wort zu halten eben.

I call to You, Lord Jesus Christ,
I beg You, hear my cries,
grant me mercy at this time,
do not let me despair;
the true faith, Lord, I mean
that You would give me,
to live for You,
to be of use to my neighbor,
to keep Your word faithfully.

text & translation from Emmanuel Music

From → Church Music, Hymns

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

