Skip to content

Organ Recital – September 18th, 2011

September 14, 2011

So I’m going to play a recital this coming Sunday (September 18th @3pm, Grace Lutheran Church, Little Rock, Arkansas). It has been almost exactly three years since my previous organ recital here at Grace, and so it was time. Since I’m not (nor do I desire to be) a concert organist, the recital may look different than “normal” (if there is such a thing) organ recital programs. The program will be a journey through the church year, with a prelude and postlude as well. I’m trying to stick to my strengths, and above all, avoid embarrassing myself. So, here’s what I’m playing (because I KNOW you want to know):

Update: I’ve added a PDF of the recital program instead of the listing of the pieces.

From → Church Music, Hymns

10 Comments
  1. Laura permalink

    Wish I could come!! Thanks for sharing the program!

    • If you’d like to hear it, just let me know and I can invite you to the Dropbox folder of the audio files. I think I have your email address (it shows up when you comment), so I’d send it there.

  2. Laura permalink

    I would love to hear it!! Thanks for offering to share!

    • You should have an invitation to the Dropbox folder now. Let me know if you have problems. Nathan

  3. Laura permalink

    Kids were at Grandma’s tonight, so I had a chance to listen to your recital. Thanks so much for sharing! I’m inspired to go practice which is what all good performances do for me! You did wonderful work! I loved the entire program though the Manz and Behnke were favorites for sure. It’s the Walter I can aspire to for now though (and I have the music) so I’ll get to it. :) Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Laura, I’m really glad you enjoyed it. It was a lot of fun and good for me to work on something like that. The Walther is great (do know that I had a major blip in that one that was definitely not in the score), and I think you’ll find it enjoyable. So enjoy yourself and I look forward to hearing your recital sometime in the near future. :-)

  4. I’d also love to hear it. We’re having Benjamin Kolodziej from Prince of Peace, Plano, TX to play a hymn festival next weekend (based on the 6 chief parts of the catechism)…I’d love to hear your stuff if you wouldn’t mind…

    • You should have an invitation now. Hope you enjoy it. That hymn festival sounds great! Hope your family is well.

  5. Nathan, was going to let you know…your organ recital is one of our new ways to soothe the baby. He loves the stuff. Thanks a ton!

    • That’s great! I certainly wasn’t expecting that, but whatever works. Hope your family is doing well.

Leave a Reply

